Research Databases
117 databases found
A
Indexes key journals from many different disciplines. Contains significant full text of scholarly and popular journal articles and book reviews.
On-demand streaming videos covering a broad range of subject areas. Includes documentaries, feature films, performances, news programs, and demonstrations.
Includes more than 8,000 news publications from 200 countries worldwide.
A collection of over 5,500 scholarly books in the humanities from over 125 publishers, curated by The American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS).
Indexes newspapers owned and operated by African Americans from more than 35 US States.
Indexes over 170 periodicals by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Indexes over 60 African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Indexes scholarship focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes major reference works, biographies, bibliographies, primary source documents, images, maps, and other supplementary material.
Indexes primary sources from the Library Company of Philadelphia. Includes books, pamphlets, and broadsides.
Materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry and animal science.
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
World Heritage Sites: Africa is made up of more than 86,000 objects in 30 sub-collections. The resource links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites.
Indexes literature dealing with U.S. and Canadian history. Includes significant full text of scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference papers and dissertations.
Indexes literature dealing with the history, culture, and daily life of Americans in the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes searchable images of campaign literature, posters, advertisements, trade cards, and programs.
An index to pamphlets from the collections of the New York Historical Society, dealing with U.S. government, religion, business, education, science, health, art and entertainment.
Includes nearly 4,000 narratives told by ex-slaves collected under the auspices of the Works Projects Administration between 1936 and 1938.
Includes census schedules, vital records, directories, photographs, and other resources useful for research in genealogy and history. Restricted to current SLU students, faculty, and staff; must be connected to the campus network to access.
Journals from the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association and related organizations.
Indexes literature dealing with art and architecture. Includes significant full text of scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews.
Indexes digital images, worldwide in scope. Includes photographs, maps, posters, architectural plans, sculptures, paintings, and illuminations.
arXiv is an open-access archive created and maintained by Cornell University for scholarly articles in the sciences and economics.
Indexes literature dealing religion and theology. Includes significant full text of scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference papers and dissertations.
B
Indexes scholarship covering biblical archaeology and biblical interpretation. Includes journal articles and books of the Biblical Archaeology Society.
Indexes scholarship pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia. Includes books, journal articles, and conference proceedings.
Historical newspaper articles on the African American experience from 1976 to the present day.
Indexes 17th and 18th century English-language newspapers, pamphlets, proclamations and ephemera published in London, the British Isles, and colonies.
Indexes literature dealing with business, economics, marketing, and management. Contains significant full text of journal articles, book chapters, market research, industry reports, country reports, and company profiles.
C
Indexes scholarship dealing with theory and research in international affairs. Contains significant full text for working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Indexes the scholarly literature of Latin America. Contains citations for journal articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes.
D
Indexes declassified government documents central to U.S. foreign policy, intelligence, and security since 1945.
E
Indexes books pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800. Based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans
Indexes colonial-era and United States newspapers. Includes newspaper articles, editorials, advertisements, and classifieds ads.
Includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers covering the arts, business and economics, education, language arts, literary criticism, political science, religion, social sciences, and other academic fields.
Indexes scholarship dealing with Economics. Includes significant full text of scholarly and popular journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, working papers, and dissertations.
Indexes important works published in the United Kingdom, the Colonies, and the United States. Includes significant full text of books, directories, sermons, bibles, sheet music, and pamphlets.
A comprehensive, international union catalogue listing early books, serials, newspapers and selected ephemera printed before 1801. Contains entries for items issued in Britain, Ireland, overseas territories under British colonial rule, and the United States.
Indexes literature dealing with the environment, pollution, and energy. Includes significant full text of scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference papers and dissertations.
Indexes literature dealing with education. Includes significant full text of scholarly and popular journal articles, research documents, book chapters, book reviews, and conferences.
F
Indexes scholarship dealing with film and television research, theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, as well as reviews. Includes popular, scholarly, and trade articles.
G
Bibliographic database for scientific publications of the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada.
Indexes journal articles, theses, papers, books and technical reports from academic publishers, professional societies, university presses, governmental and international organizations.
An index to U.S. government documents, including significant full text of Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments.
An encyclopedia of articles written by scholars charting the diverse history, theory and cultures of music around the globe.
H
An index to the collections of major academic and research institutions around the world. Includes significant full text of millions of primary sources and government documents.
Indexes literature dealing with World history since 1450, not U.S. or Canada. Includes significant full text of scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference papers and dissertations.
Includes historical and current demographic, governmental and economic statistics.
The Handbook of Latin American Studies indexes key works in the humanities and social sciences dealing with Latin America. Includes citations to books, scholarly journal articles, and maps.
I
A current bibliography of articles in medieval journals, conference proceedings, and essay collections worldwide.
J
Indexes key scholarship in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Contains significant full text of books, book chapters, journal articles, book reviews, pamphlets, images, and many primary sources.
K
On-demand video streaming, offering access to documentaries, foreign and classic films, and educational videos.
L
An index to historical newspapers published throughout South and Central America, Mexico, and the Caribbean.
Indexes scholarship pertaining to library and information technology. Contains significant full text of scholarly and popular journal articles, books, proceedings and research reports.
Indexes critical and descriptive sources from reference works, books and journals across literary disciplines.
Indexes the scholarship of literature, literary movements, and literary criticism. Contains significant full text of articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, critical essays, and work and topic overviews.
M
Indexes current news and scholarly literature pertaining to the US military and government. Contains significant full text of scholarly and popular journal articles and book reviews.
Indexes scholarship pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to scholarly journal articles and book reviews.
Indexes digitized recordings, documentaries, and interviews related to American music, as well as global contemporary, classical, and jazz music.
Indexes scholarship pertaining to music. Contains significant full text of scholarly, popular, and trade journal articles and book reviews.
N
Digital archive of newspapers from around New York State.
Selected full text coverage of 240+ newspapers and other news sources.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. More than 17,000 national and international news, business, and legal sources.
O
Complete Grove Dictionary of Art & other art reference sources from Oxford University Press.
Biographies of people noted in British history and culture.
The accepted authority on the English language, containing the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world.
Grove Dictionary of Music and other Oxford music reference sources.
P
Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Archives and current access to journals of the American Physical Society.
Formerly NewspaperDirect PressDisplay. Current U.S. and international newspapers and magazines; full-text, full-color format.
House & Senate Documents and Reports also includes the pre-1817 American State Papers. In addition many executive branch materials historical maps illustrations etc.
Full text of Chicago Defender (1909-2010) and The New York Times (1851-2019)
National and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights.
U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
R
Chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions, with references to chemistry journal and patent literature.
S
Indexes journals in all sciences citation searches which is now available via the Web of Science platform.
Information about over 250,000 serial titles (journals, magazines etc.).
Ten newspapers published in India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
T
TRAC is a free, public website that provides access to reports about federal enforcement, staffing, and spending, compiled by the Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) staff using TRAC collected data.
TRACFfed offers access to a wide range of data and reports concerning federal enforcement, staffing, and spending.
U
House & Senate Documents and Reports also includes the pre-1817 American State Papers. In addition many executive branch materials historical maps illustrations etc.
W
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts.
World Development Indicators country profiles World Bank data catalog and more.
Historical newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, and South Asia during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
FirstSearch is the classic interface for the WorldCat database, but also includes access to additional databases for article searching and search features for both novice and expert researchers.
