The University Archives
The St. Lawrence University Archives contains a wide-range of materials that reflect the experience and contributions of students, staff, and faculty.
Overview
The St. Lawrence University Archives are the institutional memory of the University. The St Lawrence University Libraries have been mindful to collect a wide range of materials that reflect the experience and contributions of students, staff, and faculty. Most of our archival collections are open to the public.
Hill News and Gridiron
We have complete runs of the campus newspaper, The Hill News, and the yearbook, the Gridiron. Both are online: Hill News and Gridiron. There is also a complete run of senior theses housed in the Special Collections area, and they can be read in the Frank and Anne Piskor Reading Room. Specific thesis can be searched from the SLU Libraries web site.
Histories
There are three book-length histories of St. Lawrence. They are:
Ed Blankman and Thurlow Cannon The Scarlet and the Brown: A History of
- St. Lawrence University. 1856-1981. Ed. Neal Burdick. Canton New York: St. Lawrence University, 1987.
- Candle in the Wilderness: A Centennial History of St. Lawrence University. Eds. Louis Pink and Rutherford Delmage. New York: Appleton-Century-Crofts, 1957.
- Sixty Years of Saint Lawrence. Canton New York: St. Lawrence University, 1916.
All three titles are in Special Collections, and copies are available in the circulating collection.
Scrapbook Collection
One of the most charming and telling collections is our Student Scrapbook Collection. The memorabilia found on the pages tells very interesting (and sometimes remarkably candid) stories about a cross-section of students. A complete list of scrapbooks is available here. Researchers might also be interested to know which publications of the college are available, and that shelf list is available.
A guide to all of our record groups is also available.