Where and What
- We are located on the Main Floor of the ODY Library. Enter the main doors and proceed straight back to the Park Street side of the building, and the Frank and Ann Piskor Reading Room.
- Access to the room is available by appointment. For an appointment, contact Special Collections and Archives Librarian Paul Doty, 315-229-5483, firstname.lastname@example.org.
- We want to put materials in “people’s hands,” literally. While all of our collections must be viewed in the Frank and Anne Piskor Reading Room, central to our mission is providing an opportunity to experience the materials as physical objects.
- The Frank P. Piskor Robert Frost rare book collection and The Frank P. Piskor Robert Frost Manuscript collection (MSS 62) together constitute one of the best private collections of Frost editions and ephemera the United States.
- Our 221 manuscript collections include personal papers and letters, diaries, business records, maps, photographs, postcards, and other printed matter, ranging in size from a box you can hold in one hand to 500 linear feet of shelf space.
- Our most requested collections are the Owen D. Young papers, and manuscript collections about citizens groups in Northern New York.
- To assist in the use of Archival and Manuscript collections, we develop “finding aids,” a guide to what is contained in each collection. You can find a “finding aid” as a link on the bibliographic record to a manuscript collection when searching the SLU Libraries Catalog.
- Our collections which bespeak the Adirondacks are:
- Adirondack Park Agency Collection (MSS 29)
- Cranberry Lake Collection (31)
- Adirondack Collection (32)
- North Country Map Collection (70)
- Paul Jamieson Papers (74)
- North Country Boats and Boating Collection (167)
- Comstock Adirondack Postcard Collection (198)
- Mark Swanson Adirondack Diaries Collection (207)
- Adirondack Poetry and Adirondack Fiction Collection (Rare Books)
- We have 14th and 15th century illuminated manuscripts.
- Amongst the materials you can find in our archives are Kirk Douglas’ yearbook photograph, poems written by Jeffrey Campbell (SLU’s first African American student), and scrapbooks created by students between 1880 and 1974.
Paul Doty, Special Collections and Archives Librarian, email@example.com 315-229-5476
Briana Diienno, Special Collections Assistant, firstname.lastname@example.org 315-229-5956