Skip to main content

Introduction

Anyone is welcome to use the special collections and archives. Materials in our Manuscript collections and our Rare Book collections are findable through the SLU Libraries web presence. None of the items in these collections leave the Frank and Anne Piskor Reading room.  Use of the collections requires a completed Materials Request Form for all materials.  Visitors who are not part of the greater St. Lawrence University community will be asked to present a valid identification, and will be asked to store coats and bags while you use our materials.  Visitors travelling to Canton may wish to contact us ahead of time so that we can have materials ready for you (though this is not mandatory).  Users are welcome to bring laptop computers.  If you are taking notes by hand, you must use only pencils--no ball-point or fountain pens allowed.  When St. Lawrence University classes are scheduled to use the Frank and Anne Piskor Reading Room, the room is closed to other visitors and our collections are unavailable until the class is over. 

Visitors to the Frank and Anne Piskor Reading Room should be aware that the room is under video surveillance. 

Image
Paul Doty, Interim Special Collections and Archives Librarian working in ODY's Special Collections with Ned Hallahan "21

Reproductions

We allow for digital photography of materials.  We do provide scanning or copying both for visitors to the archives and in response to electronically submitted requests.  Reproductions are made for research purposes only and should not be transferred to any other person or institution without prior written permission from the Special Collections and Archives Librarian. 

The Special Collections and Archives Librarian reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order, if fulfilling the order would involve violation of copyright law, pose a risk to fragile materials, or is of excessive length.  If you are interested in having copies made, please contact either Paul Haggett or Paul Doty in the Special Collections area.

Permissions

Researchers wishing to publish original material from our collections must make a written application for permission to publish to the Special Collections and Archives Librarian (this request for permission may come via electronic means).  In granting permission to publish, the Archives does not surrender rights thereafter to publish the material or grant permission to others to publish. 

Researchers should be aware that we do not hold publication rights to all of the materials in our collections, and responsibility rests with researches to seek publication permission from the appropriate party.