Terms
abstract (1) A brief summary of the points in an article; (2) A source which compiles by subject, author, or title, articles in a selected group of periodicals and includes a summary of each article.
almanac A compendium of useful data and statistics relating to countries, personalities, events, and subjects.
annotated bibliography A list of works with descriptions that include a brief summary about each.
annotation A brief note, usually no longer than two or three sentences, added after a citation in a bibliography to describe or explain the content or message of the work cited or to comment on it.
anthology A collection of extracts from the works of various authors, usually in the same genre or about the same subject. (Example: Norton Anthology of English Literature). Sometimes a collection from the works of an individual author.
appendix Section of a book after the main content containing supplementary materials such as tables, maps, or documents.
article A non-fiction contribution written for publication in a journal, magazine, or newspaper.
atlas A volume of maps, plates, engravings, tables, etc.
audiovisual Information in a non-print format, including films, images, audio and video Also referred to as media.
autobiography An account of a person's life written or told by that person.
bibliography A list of citations or references to books or periodical articles on a particular topic. Bibliographies most often appear at end of a book or journal article.
biography A carefully researched, relatively full narrative account of the life of a specific person or closely related group of people, written by another.
bound volume A physical copy of a journal formed when issues of a softcover periodical title are gathered to form a hardback volume.
browse searching Browse searching is limited to one field, such as author or subject heading, and the computer matches the search statement exactly, so word order and spacing are important. This is in contrast to keyword searching which may involve more than one field, and where word order is not important. A browse search results in a list of entries from the one field.
call number A combination of numbers and letters that provide a unique description of each item in a library collection. Items are arranged on the book shelves by call number, so the call number is the "address" of materials on the shelf. The St. Lawrence libraries use the Library of Congress style for creating call numbers and categorizing books.
carrel A study area for one person. ODY library has designated carrels that can be reserved for an entire academic year. Seniors have priority as the spaces are limited. There are also private carrels for faculty use.
catalog The database of each unique item in a library’s collection. The library catalog includes a record for each book, eBook, DVD, streaming video, and other items that the library holds. The SLU Libraries’ catalog is called ODYsseus, and includes the holdings of the ODY, Science Library, and Music Library. Library holdings can also be searched using Discovery.
check out To borrow books or periodicals from the library for a certain period of time.
circulate To allow materials to be checked out of the library. Some materials, such as reference books, are non-circulating and must be used within the library.
circulation desk Location near the front entrance in each library where many patron functions happen. This includes checking out or returning items, picking up items on reserve, and claiming lost belongings. The Service Desk at ODY serves as both the library circulation desk and the IT help desk.
citation A citation is a reference or footnote to an item (such as a book or periodical article). A citation contains the author, title, date of publication, and other information needed to locate the item.
connectors Words that indicate the relationship between search terms. Also referred to as Boolean Operators. Common connectors are AND, OR, NOT.
copyright The exclusive legal right to control the production, use, and sale of copies of a literary, musical, or artistic work.
course reserves Materials that instructors set aside for the students in a class to read. These items may be borrowed from the circulation desk for a short period and have fines for late returns.
cross reference Word or heading that directs you from one part of a book, catalog, or index to another section in the same item.
current periodicals The latest or most recent issues of the print journals and magazines that the library receives. Both the Owen D. Young and Launders Science Libraries have easily accessible sections of current periodicals.
database A collection of information in a searchable digital format. In a library context this usually refers to a database that includes articles, books, statistics, or other information used for research. The libraries have access to hundreds of research databases that can be found on the library website.
Discovery The SLU Libraries’ master database. You can use it to search for articles, books, films, and other resources in the Libraries’ research databases as well as physical collections.
dissertation A thesis or treatise prepared as a condition for the award of a degree or diploma.
download To receive data to a local system from a remote system, or to initiate such a data transfer. The opposite of upload.
due date The date by which borrowed books and materials should be returned. To extend the loan period for materials, the item should be renewed before the due date so that fines are not incurred.
eBook An eBook refers to any book that comes in a digital or electronic format. The St. Lawrence University Libraries provide access to around 500,000 eBooks for our patrons.
fair use A special exemption to copyright that allows limited reproduction of selections from books, journals, and videos for educational or scholarly purposes.
fines The amount of money which is owed by the borrower if materials are not returned by the due date. Fines can be paid at the ODY Library Service Desk.
folio An over-sized book, too large for normal shelving. The folio books in ODY are found after the Z's on the shelves.
Frost Ferguson Room Second floor classroom in ODY library.
hits Items retrieved from a database matching criteria you set. For example, if you do a keyword search in the library catalog for "mammals" and retrieve 508 items, that can also be called 508 'hits.'
holdings The materials owned or held by a library.
ILLiad The SLU Libraries’ interlibrary loan system. You can use ILLiad to obtain articles and books from other libraries.
index A source that points to where information can be found. 1. List at the end of a book, encyclopedia, etc. t. hat indicates by author, title and/or subject the location of information within the book or encyclopedia. 2. Tool that arranges (by author, title, or subject) citations to articles in a selected group of periodicals.
interlibrary loan (ILL) Exchange of books or periodical articles between libraries. You can use interlibrary loan to obtain articles and books from other libraries using ILLiad.
ISBN (International Standard Book Number) A numerical code assigned to a book before publication as a means of identifying it concisely, uniquely, and unambiguously. The four parts of the ISBN are: group identifier (e.g., national, geographic, language, or other convenient group), publisher identifier, title identifier, and check digit.
ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) The international numerical code that identifies concisely, uniquely, and unambiguously a serial publication.
Josephine Young Room The Josephine Young Room in Owen D. Young Library has been a “browsing room” since ODY was built in 1959. Named for the wife of Owen D. Young (both Class of 1895), during the spring of 2012 it was renovated thanks to the estate of Richard Young ’40 and the generosity of Charles ’75 and Karen Sivy Daugherty ’75, P’12.
journal A type of periodical which contains scholarly articles. Articles in journals undergo a process called peer-review. Journals are usually published by academic or association presses and include bibliographies.
Launders Science Library (LSL) This is one of two satellite libraries on the St. Lawrence campus. Its holdings include books and periodicals in the natural sciences. It is also home to the Science Writing Center, the GIS lab, and the James Streeter Map room.
manual A compact book of rules or guidelines.
media Films, images, and other audio-visual materials.
microfiche Photographic images reproduced on a small 4 x 6 sheets of film. This was a method of storing a considerable amount of information in reduced form.
microfilm Photographically reduced images of printed pages on 35mm film. Older issues of newspapers were often microfilmed because newsprint deteriorates so rapidly. To access the information, the film is loaded into a microfilm reader. The microfilm and readers are kept in the lower level of the ODY library.
monographic series A set of books that have a number of volumes with a definite end.
Music Library This library is located inside the Arts Annex at 21 Romoda Drive. It consists primarily of sound recordings, video recordings, scores for study and performance, and collected works of select major composers. Books and periodicals about music and musicians are housed in the Owen D. Young Library.
ODYsseus The SLU library catalog, which includes the holdings of the ODY, Science Library, and Music Library. ODYsseus includes a record for each book, eBook, DVD, streaming video, and other unique items that the libraries hold. Library holdings can also be searched using Discovery.
operators Words such as AND, OR, and NOT that are used to combine search terms to broaden or narrow the results of a search.
overdue An item that has not been returned by the date that it is due. Many materials accrue late fines when they are not returned on time.
Owen D. Young Library (ODY) This is the main library on the St. Lawrence campus. Its holdings include books, periodicals, media and special collections in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. There is lab and study space on each of its three floors. It is also home to the WORD Studio, Information Technology, Digital Scholarship, and the Center for Teaching and Learning.
peer review The process by which an article is submitted by the author to experts in the field for critical evaluation prior to publication in a scholarly journal. This is a standard procedure in scholarly publishing.
peer-reviewed journal A journal that uses the peer review process to select works for publication. Also called a refereed journal.
periodical Materials published at regular intervals (at least 3 times a year) and intended to be continued indefinitely. Examples of periodicals include magazines, journals, and newsletters.
primary sources Authoritative documents relating to a subject, used in the preparation of a later work, e.g., original record, contemporary documents, etc. Synonymous with original sources and source material. In historical research, this refers to sources that were written or created during the time period being studied.
Quantitative Resource Center (QRC) A center that provides mathematical, statistical and computational support. They facilitate, encourage, and develop quantitative reasoning, skills, and applications for the St. Lawrence University Community. It is located in Valentine 215.
recall A request by the library to a borrower for the return of a item before the due date. A patron can submit a recall slip requesting that an item be returned early.
renew To extend the loan period library materials that are checked out. Renewals can be made online through the library website, in person at a circulation desk or over the phone. An item cannot be renewed if another patron has requested it.
Research Assistance Desk Located on the first floor of ODY library, this station is staffed by both trained students and librarians. The Research Assistance Desk can assist in narrowing search terms for the best results, as well as provide more in-depth research consultations.
reserve materials A selection of specific books, articles and other materials which faculty have indicated that students must read for a particular course. They are checked out for short periods through the ODY circulation desk (for humanities and social science classes) and Launders circulation desk (for natural science classes). They must be used within the library.
reserves see: course reserves
Science Writing Center This center is run by student tutors in the natural sciences. They can assist in formulating ideas for papers and lab reports. It is located in room 211 of the Launders Science Library.
scope The range or content of a specific work, which indicates what information is included and what is excluded.
Special Collections Located on the main level of the Owen D. Young Library, this department is responsible for the rare books and manuscript collections owned by St. Lawrence University. Special Collections also houses the Vance University Archives, where historic documents, photographs and other records of the University are preserved.
stacks Often called the Stacks, the shelves in the library where the main body of the collection (usually books and periodicals) is stored.
style manual A publication that sets forth the rules for composition, including format and manner of citing sources. There are numerous style manuals and each is specific to a particular discipline, profession or publisher.
subheading A subdivision of a more general subject heading. For example in the Library of Congress Subject Heading: Canada -- Pictorial works, Pictorial works is a subheading of Canada.
subject heading A term or phrase used in databases and library catalogs to describe the content of library materials in a standardized way. For example, “Black-and-white photography” is the subject heading used in the library catalog to describe materials that showcase this style of photography. In a research database subject headings are used as tags that allow you to search for other articles or books on that topic.
table of contents A list of parts contained within a book or periodical, such as chapter titles and periodical articles, with references by page number to the place they begin and in the sequence in which they appear.
Treehouse There are 8 raised tree house cubicles spread throughout ODY Library's 3rd floor where students can study above the ‘distraction line’ allowing for a more effective and quiet study time. What started as a Psychology research project resulted in these extremely popular study spaces. They are very hard to claim during finals week!
WORD Studio The WORD Studio is the main writing and oral communication center at St. Lawrence University. Located in ODY, it's staffed by student tutors who can assist with understanding an assignment, citing sources, and polishing a final draft. The tutors do not edit papers, instead they guide you to help strengthen your skills in critical thinking, organization and use of scholarly sources and citations. There is also a Science Writing Center in Launders Science Library.
Yellow Pipe Room Second floor room in ODY library. Affectionately called the Yellow Pipe Room on account of the brightly-colored yellow pipes.