Database Images
From a Database (e.g. AP Images, ARTStor):
Image databases typically have metadata, such as the name of the photographer and the location the photograph was taken, associated with each image. Likewise, some image databases may include a description of the photograph which can be used for the image caption.
Structure:
Last, First M. Photograph Title. Month Date, Year Created. Collection, Museum/Institution, Location. Accessed Month Date, Year. URL of database.
Example: The following image is from the AP Images database:
To cite this image, use the metadata information provided by AP Images. For this particular image, the metadata includes the following:
Using the metadata available from AP Images to cite this particular image, the citation would be the following:
Valentine, Harold. Fidel Castro gestures as he addresses a crowd of several hundred thousand persons. January 1, 1959. Associated Press. Accessed 3 May 2017. <hyperlink>
The AP Images database also includes a description for this particular image, which can be used for the image caption.
Website Images
Depending on the website, metadata about the image might be available.
Structure:
Last, First M. Photograph Title. Month Date, Year Created. Collection, Museum/Institution, Location. Accessed Month Date, Year. URL of website.
Example:
The following image is from Wikipedia:
To cite this image, use the metadata information provided on Wikipedia. To access the image's metadata on Wikipedia, double click on the image. For this particular image, the metadata includes the following:
Using the metadata available from Wikipedia to cite this particular image, the citation would be the following:
Tumpatumcla. Outdoors in Havana, Cuba, Showing Three Heroes of the Cuban Revolution. 4 November 2012. Accessed March 3, 2017. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Outdoor_em_Havana,_Cuba.jpg
Print Images
From Print (e.g. book, journal article):
Depending on the book or journal article, some metadata about the image might be available.
Structure:
Last, First M. Photograph Title. Month Date, Year Created. Collection, Museum/Institution, Location. In Book Title. Author First Author Last. City: Publisher, Year Published. Page/Plate Number.
Example:
Alborta, Freddy (photographer). Homage to Ernesto “Che” Guevara’s Final Struggle. In Cuban Palimpsests. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2005.
Original Photograph:
If you were the photographer for the image, you would cite yourself.
Structure:
Last, First M. Photograph Title. Month Date, Year Created. Collection, Museum/Institution, Location.